Lee Murray is an award-winning writer of fantasy, science fiction, and horror. She lives with her family in the Land of the Long White Cloud where she conjures up stories for readers of all ages from her office overlooking a cow paddock.


  • Acquiring Editor, Omnium Gatherum Publishing

  • Programme Director GeyserCon, Rotorua 2019

  • Mentor/assessor NZSA, AHWA, SpecFicNZ

  • Co-founder youngNZwriters


Bram Stoker Award nominee

  • 2018 nominee for Superior Achievement in an Anthology for Hellhole: An Anthology of Subterranean Terror

  • 2018 nominee for Superior Achievement in a Short Story for

  • Dead End Town in Cthulhu Deep Down Under II (Proposch, Sequeira and Stevens eds)

Sir Julius Vogel Awards

  • Best Novel for Into the Sounds, 2019

  • Best Novel for Hounds of the Underworld with Dan Rabarts, 2018

  • Best Novel for Into the Mist, 2017

  • Best Collected Work for Te Korero Ahi Ka, with Grace Bridges and Aaron Compton, 2019

  • Best Collected Work for At the Edge with Dan Rabarts, 2017

  • Service to Science Fiction, Fantasy, and Horror, Lee Murray, 2017

  • Best Short Story for The Thief’s Tale, 2016

  • Best Short Story for Inside Ferndale, 2015

  • Best Novella/Novelette for Cave Fever, in Regeneration, 2014

  • Best Collected Work for Baby Teeth with Dan Rabarts, 2014

  • Best Short Story for Hope is the Thing With Feathers 2013

  • Best Youth Novel for Battle of the Birds, 2012

Australasian Shadows Awards

  • Award Best Edited Work for Baby Teeth with Dan Rabarts, 2014

Conference Guest of Honour 

Conflux 14, Canberra 2018

Photo: Paul Mannering



  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Amazon - Black Circle

© 2018 by Lee Murray